Researchers

SUDDEN is a multidisciplinary research consortium with experts from the University of Helsinki, University of Eastern Finland, Lappeenranta-Lahti University of Technology LUT, Aalto University, Finnish Environment Institute SYKE, and think tank Demos Helsinki.

Consortium management

Jari Yli-Kauhaluoma

Professor, University of Helsinki

Director of the SUDDEN consortium and head researcher, Leader of Work Package 5

+358 50 415 1604
jari.yli-kauhaluoma@helsinki.fi

Tiina Sikanen

Docent, University Researcher, University of Helsinki

Deputy Director of the SUDDEN Consortium, Leader of Work Package 2

+358 50 448 0734
tiina.sikanen@helsinki.fi
@TiinaSikanen

Work Package Leaders

Tiina Sikanen

Docent, University Researcher, University of Helsinki

Deputy Director of the SUDDEN Consortium, Leader of Work Package 2

+358 50 448 0734
tiina.sikanen@helsinki.fi
@TiinaSikanen

Mirella Miettinen

University Researcher (PhD), University of Eastern Finland

Leader of Work Package 3, researcher responsible for Subproject 2a

+358 504720510
mirella.miettinen@uef.fi
@MirellaMiett

Mika Mänttäri

Professor, Lappeenranta University of Technology

Leader of Work Package 4

+358 40 734 2192
mika.manttari@lut.fi

Jari Yli-Kauhaluoma

Professor, University of Helsinki

Director of the SUDDEN consortium and head researcher, Leader of Work Package 5

+358 50 415 1604
jari.yli-kauhaluoma@helsinki.fi

Mari Lundström

Assistant Professor, Aalto University

Researcher responsible for Subproject 5

mari.lundstrom@aalto.fi

Researchers

Heidi Ahkola

Researcher, SYKE

Research on environmental drug load and recycling of plastics

+358 29 525 1053
heidi.ahkola@ymparisto.fi

Sabaa Ahmad Khan

Senior Researcher, Law School, University of Eastern Finland

Expert in international trade and environmental law, Work Package 3

+358 50 467 9119
sabaa.ahmadkhan@uef.fi
@sabaaahmadkhan

Lasse Alajärvi

Early Stage Researcher, School of Pharmacy, University of Eastern Finland

Project researcher, Work Package 3

lasse.alajarvi@uef.fi
@LasseAlaj

Helena Dahlbo

Senior Researcher, SYKE

Environmental impacts of circular economy alternatives to plastics

+358 29 525 1095
helena.dahlbo@ymparisto.fi

Päivi Järvinen

Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Helsinki

Environmental risk assessment, cell-based models

+358 50 448 7246
paivi.jarvinen@helsinki.fi

Sanja Karlsson

Project Coordinator, Researcher, University of Helsinki

Project coordinator for the SUDDEN initiative

+358 50 348 6246
sanja.karlsson@helsinki.fi

Tea Pihlaja

Doctoral Student, University of Helsinki

Environmental risk assessment, pharmacokinetics

+358 50 319 8941
tea.pihlaja@helsinki.fi

Hanna Salmenperä

Senior Coordinator, SYKE

Impact assessment of the regulation of pharmaceutical packaging collection and recycling

+358 40 014 8523
hanna.salmenpera@ymparisto.fi

Noora Perkola

Chemist, SYKE

Analysis of pharmaceuticals and selected transformation products

+358 29 525 1507
noora.perkola@ymparisto.fi

Vivek Agarwal

Interaction and stakeholder relationships